This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mongolia

Mongolia is made up of 22 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mongolia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mongolia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mongolia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mongolia

There are 22 regions in Mongolia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mongolia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Arhangay Arhangay Aymag1.84,584Tsetserleg Tsetserleg5,876
Bayan-Olgiy Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag2.90,404OElgiy Ölgiy28,400
Bayanhongor Bayanhongor Aymag3.88,579Bayanhongor Bayanhongor26,252
Bulgan Bulgan4.65,729Bulgan Bulgan17,348
Central Aimak Töv Aymag5.102,009Dzuunmod Dzuunmod14,660
Darhan Uul Darhan-Uul Aymag6.90,478Darhan Darhan74,300
Dzabkhan Dzavhan Aymag7.90,655Uliastay Uliastay16,240
East Aimak Dornod Aymag8.77,928Choibalsan Choibalsan23
East Gobi Aymag Dornogovĭ Aymag9.53,282Saynshand Saynshand19,891
Govi-Altay Govĭ-Altay Aymag10.64,293Altai Altai15,800
Govi-Sumber Govĭ-Sumber11.12,884Choyr Choyr9,895
Hentiy Hentiy Aymag12.65,811Undurkhaan Undurkhaan14,723
Hovd Hovd13.91,165Khovd Khovd30,500
Hovsgol Hövsgöl Aymag14.124,512Murun-kuren Murun-kuren27,690
Middle Govi Dundgovĭ Aymag15.53,635Mandalgovi Mandalgovi15,430
OEmnoegovi Ömnögovi Province16.50,681Dalandzadgad Dalandzadgad15,093
OEvoerhangay Övörhangay Aymag17.101,314Arvayheer Arvayheer25,622
Orhon Orhon Aymag18.82,788Erdenet Erdenet79,647
Selenge Selenge Aymag19.97,585Suhbaatar Sühbaatar24,235
Suhbaatar Sühbaatar Aymag20.58,340Baruun-Urt Baruun-Urt15,805
Ulaanbaatar Ulaanbaatar Hot21.844,818Ulaanbaatar Ulaanbaatar844,818
Uvs Uvs Aymag22.92,676Ulaangom Ulaangom28,085