This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mongolia

Mongolia is made up of 22 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mongolia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mongolia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mongolia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mongolia

There are 22 regions in Mongolia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mongolia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Ulaanbaatar Ulaanbaatar Hot1.844,818Ulaanbaatar Ulaanbaatar844,818
Orhon Orhon Aymag2.82,788Erdenet Erdenet79,647
Darhan Uul Darhan-Uul Aymag3.90,478Darhan Darhan74,300
Hovd Hovd4.91,165Khovd Khovd30,500
Bayan-Olgiy Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag5.90,404OElgiy Ölgiy28,400
Uvs Uvs Aymag6.92,676Ulaangom Ulaangom28,085
Hovsgol Hövsgöl Aymag7.124,512Murun-kuren Murun-kuren27,690
Bayanhongor Bayanhongor Aymag8.88,579Bayanhongor Bayanhongor26,252
OEvoerhangay Övörhangay Aymag9.101,314Arvayheer Arvayheer25,622
Selenge Selenge Aymag10.97,585Suhbaatar Sühbaatar24,235
East Gobi Aymag Dornogovĭ Aymag11.53,282Saynshand Saynshand19,891
Bulgan Bulgan12.65,729Bulgan Bulgan17,348
Dzabkhan Dzavhan Aymag13.90,655Uliastay Uliastay16,240
Suhbaatar Sühbaatar Aymag14.58,340Baruun-Urt Baruun-Urt15,805
Govi-Altay Govĭ-Altay Aymag15.64,293Altai Altai15,800
Middle Govi Dundgovĭ Aymag16.53,635Mandalgovi Mandalgovi15,430
OEmnoegovi Ömnögovi Province17.50,681Dalandzadgad Dalandzadgad15,093
Hentiy Hentiy Aymag18.65,811Undurkhaan Undurkhaan14,723
Central Aimak Töv Aymag19.102,009Dzuunmod Dzuunmod14,660
Govi-Sumber Govĭ-Sumber20.12,884Choyr Choyr9,895
Arhangay Arhangay Aymag21.84,584Tsetserleg Tsetserleg5,876
East Aimak Dornod Aymag22.77,928Choibalsan Choibalsan23